The Net-Zero Banking Alliance is governed by a 12-member-strong Steering Group and Chair to oversee decision-making and strategy. The Steering Group was selected by member banks, and represents a diversity of geography and business models.

The Group meets at both the ‘Principal’ level, with C-suite delegates ensuring that the strategy is embedded at the heart of organisations, and at the ‘Representative’ level, with working-level delegates tackling the on-the-ground practicalities of delivering on the commitment. The Alliance is supported and convened by the UNEP FI Secretariat, and the United Nations also holds a seat on the Steering Group.

The Alliance operates in compliance with its governance document, adopted in its final form on 24 October 2021. Read the NZBA Governance document.


Standard Chartered is the Chair, tasked with driving the ambition and strategic relevance of the initiative.

  • Principal Role | Tracey McDermott, Group Head of Compliance, Financial Crime and Conduct for Standard Chartered


Steering Group

The Steering Group works with the Chair to leverage the diversity of the membership, build consensus and ensure best-practice is able to be adopted worldwide. The members are: Amalgamated Bank, Bank of America, Banorte, BBVA, CIB, Citi, HSBC, KB Financial Group Inc., La Banque Postale, Morgan Stanley, MUFG, Standard Chartered and the United Nations.


Representative Role
Principal Role
Amalgamated Bank
Ivan Frishberg, Director of Impact Policy Priscilla Sims Brown, CEO
Bank of America
Alex Liftman, Global Environmental Executive Anne Finucane, Vice Chairman and Global Head of ESG, Sustainable Finance, Capital Deployment and Public Policy
José Luis Muñoz, Director- Investor Relations Dr Gerardo Salazar, Financial Group’s Head of Risk Management and member of the Board of Directors of Banorte Financial Group
Antoni Ballabriga Torreguitart, Global Head of Responsible Business Carlos Torres Vila, Chairman
Dr. Dalia Abdel Kader, Chief Sustainability Officer Mr. Hussein Abaza, CEO and Managing Director
Val Smith, Chief Sustainability Officer and Managing Director Ed Skyler, Head of Global Public Affairs
Peter Kanning, Global Head of Business Development, Sustainable Finance Noel Quinn, Group CEO
KB Financial Group Inc.
Hye Sook Moon, Head of ESG, Managing Director Jong Kyoo Yoon, Chairman & CEO
La Banque Postale
Adrienne Horel-Pagès, Chief Sustainability Officer Philippe Heim, Chairman of the Executive Board
Morgan Stanley
Celine M. Suarez, Head of Corporate Sustainability and Reporting and Managing Director, Global Sustainable Finance Audrey Choi, Chief Sustainability Officer and CEO of the Institute for Sustainable Investing
Tomo Ishikawa, Managing Director, Head of Government & Regulatory Affairs Yutaka Miyashita, Managing Corporate Executive, Group Chief Strategy Officer & Chief Sustainability Officer
Standard Chartered
Tracey McDermott, Group Head, Conduct, Financial Crime and Compliance Tracey McDermott, Group Head, Conduct, Financial Crime and Compliance
United Nations
Curtis D. Ravenel, Senior Advisor to Mark Carney, and Eric Usher, Head of UNEPFI Mark Carney, UN Special Envoy on Climate Action and Finance, and Chair of Glasgow Financial Alliance for Net Zero (GFANZ), and Eric Usher, Head of UNEPFI